Our History

Although Alliance Mutual Insurance Association was established in July of 2016, there is more than 125 years of insurance experience between the three original companies that now make up Alliance Mutual Insurance.

Three Original Companies:

  • Dubuque County Mutual Insurance: Established 1891 – Farley, Iowa
  • Delaware County Mutual Insurance: Established 1891 – Manchester, Iowa
  • Farmers Mutual Insurance Association of Garnavillo: Established 1896 – Garnavillo, Iowa

As a result of the merger, there is now one home office located in Dyersville, Iowa, a central location between the three original offices. Alliance Mutual Insurance Association now proudly serves insurance needs for 27 counties in the state of Iowa.

Click here to see a map of our territories.

Alliance Mutual Insurance Association is owned by its policy holders. We value our customers opinions and would not be the company we are today without the loyalty of our insureds. Our annual members’ meeting is held the last Monday in February at 1:00pm in our office. All mutual members are invited to attend.

Our Staff

Brian Ernst (Secretary/Manager) bernst@alliancemutualins.com

Michael Callahan (Board President) mcallahan@alliancemutualins.com

Janet Davis (Accounting, New Applications, Renewals) jdavis@alliancemutualins.com

Mandi Mueller (Claims, Quoting, Policy Amendments) mmueller@alliancemutualins.com

Julie Davis (Renewals, Inspection Program) jtdavis@alliancemutualins.com

John Garms (Property Inspections / Claims Adjuster) jgarms@alliancemutualins.com

Brian Francois (Property Inspections) bfrancios@alliancemutualins.com

Board of Directors

Michael Callahan, President

Brian Ernst, Secretary

Tracy Werges

Harlan Backhaus

Brent Bruns

Nicholas Wagner

William Brown

Marvin Heims

Mike Gudenkauf

Jeff Lucas

Alliance Mutual Insurance Association