Our History

Alliance Mutual Insurance Association was established July 1st, 2016. The original companies that now make up Alliance Mutual have been providing insurance for homeowners and farmers for more than a century. We proudly provide insurance needs for 39 counties across the state of Iowa.

Original Companies:

  • Dubuque County Mutual Insurance: Established 1891 – Farley, Iowa
  • Delaware County Mutual Insurance: Established 1891 – Manchester, Iowa
  • Farmers Mutual Insurance Association of Garnavillo: Established 1896 – Garnavillo, Iowa
  • Lenox Mutual Insurance: Established 1883 – Norway, Iowa

With home offices now in Dyersville and Norway, and more than 30 agencies across Eastern Iowa, we are able to serve our customers across all our writing territories.

Click here to see a map of our territories.

Alliance Mutual Insurance Association is owned by its policy holders. We value our customers opinions and would not be the company we are today without the loyalty of our insureds. Our annual members’ meeting is held the last Monday in February at 1:00pm in our office. All mutual members are invited to attend.

Our Staff

Brian Ernst (Board Secretary/Mutual Manager) bernst@alliancemutualins.com – Dyersville

Michael Callahan (Board President) mcallahan@alliancemutualins.com – Dyersville

Bob Kaestner (Former Lenox Mutual Manager) bkaestner@alliancemutualins.com – Norway

Janet Davis (Accounting, New Applications, Renewals) jdavis@alliancemutualins.com – Dyersville

Mandi Mueller (Claims, Quoting, Policy Amendments) mmueller@alliancemutualins.com – Dyersville

Julie Davis (Renewals, Inspection Program) jtdavis@alliancemutualins.com – Dyersville

Vicki Schulte (Renewals, Policy Amendments)  – vschulte@alliancemutualins.com – Norway

John Garms (Property Inspections / Claims Adjuster) jgarms@alliancemutualins.com

Brian Andrews (Property Inspections / Claims Adjuster) bandrews@alliancemutualins.com

Board of Directors

Michael Callahan, President

Brent Bruns, Vice President

Brian Ernst, Secretary

Harlan Backhaus

Nicholas Wagner

William Brown

Marvin Heims

Mike Gudenkauf

Jeff Lucas

Bob Kaestner

Brian McNulty

 

Alliance Mutual Insurance Association