Our History

Alliance Mutual Insurance Association was established July 1st, 2016. The original companies that now make up Alliance Mutual have been providing insurance for homeowners and farmers for more than a century. We proudly provide insurance needs for 39 counties across the state of Iowa.

Original Companies:

  • Dubuque County Mutual Insurance: Established 1891 – Farley, Iowa
  • Delaware County Mutual Insurance: Established 1891 – Manchester, Iowa
  • Farmers Mutual Insurance Association of Garnavillo: Established 1896 – Garnavillo, Iowa
  • Lenox Mutual Insurance: Established 1883 – Norway, Iowa

With home offices now in Dyersville and Norway, and more than 30 agencies across Eastern Iowa, we are able to serve our customers across all our writing territories.

Click here to see a map of our territories.

Alliance Mutual Insurance Association is owned by its policy holders. We value our customers opinions and would not be the company we are today without the loyalty of our insureds. Our annual members’ meeting is held the last Monday in February at 1:00pm in our office. All mutual members are invited to attend.

Our Staff

Brian Ernst (Board Secretary/Mutual Manager)

Michael Callahan (Board President)

Janet Davis (Accounting, New Applications, Renewals)

Stephanie Edmonds (Customer Service, Policy Processing)

Julie Davis (Renewals, Inspection Program)

Vicki Schulte (Renewals, Policy Amendments)

Jamie Leick (Claims Manager)

John Garms (Property Inspections / Claims Adjuster)

Brian Andrews (Property Inspections / Claims Adjuster)

Board of Directors

Michael Callahan, President

Brent Bruns, Vice President

Brian Ernst, Secretary

Nicholas Wagner

William Brown

Marvin Heims

Mike Gudenkauf

Jeff Lucas

Bob Kaestner

Brian McNulty

Alliance Mutual Insurance Association